Nick Harris

TI-85

leave a comment »

A tweet from Onyx Mueller caught my attention this afternoon. I thought I had spotted a TI-85. It turned out to be a TI-83 Plus (which took me a while to get the joke) but it reminded me of my old TI-85 and TI-92.

College was a challenge for me. Math is not my strong suit and I had to get through 4 courses of calculus. Luckily I found classes that allowed you to use a TI-85 or TI-92 (this was 1997). If you could program your calculator to solve the equations, you passed. I passed… then wrote a bunch of other programs on my TI-92 that summer.

I suppose I should count them as the first mobile computing devices I programmed for.

I found my TI-85 and TI-92 in excellent condition this afternoon:

IMG 9193

and for fun, here’s a photo taken with my iPhone 5 of my iPhone 4, iPhone 6, TI-85 and TI-92:

IMG 8932

Written by Nick Harris

October 16, 2014 at 4:41 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

