Nick Harris

Apple Quality

with 2 comments

Yesterday was my first full day of work with Yosemite. One of the first things I noticed was the plethora of notifications. I was getting notifications for every message on Skype as well as every incoming email with Gmail running in Safari. Being a savvy user I went to Notification Center in the Settings app and made the changes I wanted.

Today was my second full day of work with Yosemite. One of the first things I noticed was the plethora of notifications. I was getting notifications for every message on Skype as well as every incoming email with Gmail running in Safari.

What?

I went back to Settings and made my changes again. I also made a note to make sure I wasn’t crazy at the end of the day.

This evening I logged out of my work account, then logged back in. All of my Notification Settings were back to their defaults.

Its hard for me to articulate in writing just how flabbergasted I am at this bug.

Saving user preferences is beginner stuff. How a bug like that could make it past any type of real world testing is beyond me. Add this to the growing examples of other “how did this make it into the wild” bugs – like iOS 8.0.1 – and I’m left seriously questioning Apple.

One of the biggest draws for me to make the jump from Windows to Mac was the simplicity and genuine quality of Apple products. Though the developer tools were downright terrible compared to .Net development, I trusted the OS and its frameworks to be superior to Windows and all of its flaws. But over the last two years, my trust in Apple has taken a serious hit.

I hold out hope that these problems are transient. But the more they pile on, the more I think that there’s a much bigger issue.

Written by Nick Harris

October 23, 2014 at 3:00 am

Posted in Uncategorized

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thank you. For a while, I thought I was crazy, too!

    François Joseph

    October 23, 2014 at 5:51 am

  2. I’ve noticed it too. The betas for both iOS 8 and OS X 10.10 have been brutal, and both have been rushed to GM before they were ready. It probably isn’t a coincidence that the head of QC for both of those projects was also responsible for QC & QA for their iOS Maps App.

    Jim Shoe

    October 23, 2014 at 7:38 pm


Leave a Reply

