Nick Harris

NodeJS + PassKit Push Notifications

with one comment

I did a quick talk and demo at iOS Dev Camp Colorado this past weekend in Colorado Springs about PassKit and how to update a pass using Apple Push Notification Service (APNs).

Tom Harrington (amazing organizer of the event) and a few others asked me after how hard it was to send push notifications to APNs using NodeJS. It was one of the most intimidating parts I had to figure out for my demo but it turned out to be incredibly simple.

I used node-apn.

npm install node-apn

Here’s gist of my push_service.js.

That’s the first NodeJS code I’ve shared here. Be gentle. I didn’t really ask or search how others prefer to do NodeJS, I just wrote it in a style I like.

Written by Nick Harris

May 15, 2015 at 4:08 am

Posted in Uncategorized

One Response

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. […] C# and eventually Azure. Since then I’ve written some throw-away Node.JS web services including a Passport project and talk I gave about a year […]


Leave a Reply

