Nick Harris

Denver

leave a comment »

Denver was named the #1 place to live in the United States today by U.S. News & World Report. I’ve lived here for almost 15 years now and I can attest that its very true. The people are great, the natural beauty is breathtaking and the job market is amazingly robust. Even during the big bust of 2008 when the company I worked for had to layoff a good percentage of employees, my friends that were let go had offers from other great companies in short order. 

I spent a good portion of last year deciding if I wanted to stay in Denver or move to somewhere new. I visited a bunch of cities – Raleigh NC, Washington DC, San Francisco CA, Seattle WA, Chicago IL, Madison WI. I loved them all and had a really hard time deciding which I liked over all the others. But in the end I decided the place I really wanted to be was here in Denver. 

I live 5 miles from Red Rocks. I have friends here from high school and college who are basically family after 20+ years. I can take a lunch break and drive up the canyons and switchbacks to views like this and be back before afternoon meetings.

IMG 2196

I’m about to start a new job search. After 5 years of remote work I’m particularly interested in working in an office again – maybe even a startup again – though remote work isn’t out of the question. What is out of the question is leaving Denver even if that means missing the opportunity to work at some pretty amazing companies. The only thing that could really draw me away from Denver is to be closer to my family in Ohio.

It wasn’t an easy decision to come to but its one that I have no doubts about. Denver is that awesome.

Written by Nick Harris

March 3, 2016 at 6:05 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

