Nick Harris

Trouble Everyday

leave a comment »

Just spent another night watching another round of US politics in action on the old TV.

Trying to wash my mind of it I went looking into my music library and was reminded of a conversation I had after the third Ween show I was at last month. As the lights came up in the crowd the PA started playing “Sloop John B”. My buddy turned to me and asked what song it was.

Me: “Beach Boys? Pet Sounds? Arguably one of the most important albums ever recorded? Really? You don’t know this song?”

I’m a huge Beatles fan. Pet Sounds was a big influence on Sgt. Peppers.

I’m also a huge Frank Zappa fan. Freak Out was also a big influence on Sgt. Peppers.

A -> B -> Z – Z being Zappa.

The tie back to Zappa being the political environment we’re in – specifically with the song “Trouble Every Day” on Freak Out.

Trouble Every Day is about the Watts Riots in LA in 1965. The lines about race are powerful but what has always stood out to me are the lines about the media.

This song is 50 years old.

50 years and its feels like we’ve gone nowhere.

At least we have some good songs.

Written by Nick Harris

March 16, 2016 at 7:41 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

