Nick Harris

Klondike Solitaire Weekend Challenge

leave a comment »

Friday was a snowy day in Denver. There was a lot of basketball on TV too. I decided to give myself a challenge…

How hard would it be to write a Klondike Solitaire app for iOS?

The challenge was just to see how far I could get just on weekend evenings (my weekend days are not for coding). I was going to be watching NCAA tournament games so might as well have something to do during downtimes.

I think I got pretty far! Its not complete, but its easily less then a weeks worth of work to complete.

What isn’t there

– dragging between piles
– scoring
– different game rules (single card from the waste pile is all that’s supported)
– undo

Here’s my game on Phone 6S Plus:

Why Solitaire?

Klondike Solitaire has been a staple on both Mac and PC. After working on this I can see why. The logic is pretty easy. The challenge in the UI. Once you have solid game code the only challenge is passing user interactions into the games controller.

I bet that’s why its been a constant in OS versions for decades. The big challenges are always UI based. The code that drives my game is less then 700 lines of code all told. Its a really simple game with simple rules. I spent much more time figuring out how to make it work on multiple devices.

Conclusion

I’m both surprised at what I got done with 16 hours of work over three days as well as being a bit disappointed that I didn’t finish more. I spent much more time in UI driven roles (creating assists, dealing with Storyboard Autolayout) then I would have wanted too. I wonder how much of what I think is left i would had gotten done if I wasn’t fixated on having something in a video.

The total app is less then 1025 lines. I don’t see it getting more then 2000 when all is said and done.

Fun weekend and fun challenge though!

Written by Nick Harris

March 21, 2016 at 7:42 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

