Nick Harris

PDF Playing Card Assets

leave a comment »

Xcode gave us the ability to use PDF (or single vector driven graphics) a while ago and I’ve never heard good or bad if they should be used instead of strict sized based PNG assets.

I’ve been playing around with them though with Euchre and Solitaire and I like how my PDF assets look on all my devices.

There was a sizable resistance against PDF assets a few years ago. Is that still the case?

Here are some screen shots of my PDF cards on a 4s, 5, 6, 6SPlus, iPad Air and iPad Pro…

4S

IPhone4s

5 (or SE)

IPhone5

6

IPhone6

6S Plus

IPhone6SPlus

iPad Air 2

IPadAir2

iPad Pro

IPadPro

 

Those blog images are probably hard to judge from.

Here is my Sketch file and PDF assets I made.

Feel free to use them in your own apps.

But back to the original question…

Are PDF assets OK now?

Written by Nick Harris

March 23, 2016 at 7:16 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

