Nick Harris

Strange Things at Serpent Mound

leave a comment »

Ever since I read about The Great Serpent Mound in the Haunted Ohio books when I was a kid I’ve wanted to go. I didn’t have anything going on today so I decided to make the drive. I’ve heard a few stories about strange things that happen there but I didn’t expect anything would happen to me. I just wanted to see it.

But a strange thing happened to me.

I’ve had my iPhone for over a year. I’ve never had any problems with it. Today while I was walking around Serpent Mound taking pictures it suddenly turned itself off. When I tried to turn it back on it had the dead battery graphic. I know it wasn’t dead. I had it on the charger the whole way there. It was at 100%. After another try or two it restarted but was down to 40%. When I tried to take another picture it turned itself off again. I repeated this at least a dozen times. It would show the dead battery graphic, then startup on the next try, stay on for about 5 seconds, then turn off again.

I decided to put it back on the charger in my car just to see what would happen. After a few minutes of charging with it on, I unplugged it and took a picture of my steering wheel to make sure it wasn’t going to turn off again. It was working fine. So I went back out to take the pictures I wanted from the observation tower. Lo and behold, after taking pictures for another 5 minutes it went right back to turning itself off. I decided to go ahead and leave.

I put it back on the charger in my car and left. About 20 miles down the road is the abandon Belfast Elementary School. Its creepy looking so I decided to stop and take some pictures of it as well. My phone worked fine. Its worked fine the rest of the day. I expect it will continue to work fine.

I love a good ghost story and unexplained things. That’s only the second time something truly unexplained has happened to me (I once caught a voice say “you’re in the hole” while using my iPhones’ voice recorder in a cell at the Ohio State Reformatory).

Today was awesome. I was dumbfounded. Serpent Mound really is a strange, special place.

IMG 0141

IMG 0142

IMG 0144

IMG 0164

IMG 0171

IMG 0173

IMG 0176

IMG 0178

IMG 0180

IMG 0181

IMG 0184

IMG 0185

Written by Nick Harris

December 28, 2016 at 2:12 am

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

